My Woodworking – Beginnings and Travels

4_lg

This is the pride and joy of my tool stable. It is a bronze, Lie Nielsen smoothing plane. In the time I have had it, my woodworking has gone from 0 to 60. Most importantly, it has taught me the value of properly sharpened plane blades.

Watching and following the sharpening techniques taught by Paul Sellers (woodworkingmasterclasses.com) has been instrumental. He is truly the master craftsman. Shannon Rogers has also been there when I needed some one-on-one. But of course, my woodworking guru is Kelly Mehler. Who can’t love Berea KY! He literally took me as a babe in the woods (no pun intended) and took me to a point where I could try new things on my own.

More to come later. I will profile my saw stable as well as my other tools. But I can’t overlook my saw guru, Mark Harrell. He is right on for saw creation and use. I’m looking forward to NEXT SUMMER already (2016) for a week in LaCrosse WI with Mark and Tom Fidgen.

My list gets longer and longer. I guess I will have to make more of an effort to document things.

So much for now.

Leave a comment